2023 Sheri L. Parrack FHPW Diversity Excellence Award

2023 Diversity Award

"The practice or quality of including or involving people from a range of different social and ethnic backgrounds and of different genders, sexual orientations, etc."

These can be along the dimensions of race, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, socio-economic status, age, physical abilities, religious beliefs, political beliefs or other ideologies.

The Diversity Award recognizes a business for outstanding efforts in promoting diversity, equity, and inclusion in the organization.

Businesses include For-Profit Companies and Non-Profit Companies in the following categories:

  • Small Businesses - 10-99 Employees
  • Medium Businesses - 100 - 500 Employees
  • Large Businesses - 500+ Employees


Submission Deadline is June 16, 2023   June 30th, 2023

2023 Diversity Award (1)

2022 Sheri L. Parrack FHPW Diversity Excellence Award

2022 Diversity Award Winners

Small Business:  Centurion Pipeline Company, LLC

Medium Business:  The College of Health Care Professionals

Large Business - Houston Community College

Woman accepting Diversity award trophy
Man accepting diversity award trophy

2021 Sheri L. Parrack FHPW Diversity Excellence Award

In 2021, the Federation established the Sheri L. Parrack FHPW Diversity Excellence Award, seeking to recognize companies that have introduced processes to create inclusive environments supporting women in the workplace.  We look for companies that have women in leadership positions and communicate the value of diversity and inclusion.  To qualify, a company must have 500 employees, at least one office in the Houston metropolitan area and be able to send a representative to attend the awards gala held each year.  Nominations are taken annually.

This award is named for Sheri L. Parrack, a former president of both FHPW and the FHPW Educational Foundation. Sheri was a committed steward and mentor for women of all ages, races and backgrounds.  Sheri is missed but her presence in the Federation is never forgotten.

The inaugural award went to Memorial Hermann in 2021.

Memorial Hermann
Sheri L. Parrack Diversity Excellence Award presented to Memorial Hermann Health Systems (Photo by Barfield Photography)

President Elect Nelia Mazula (L) and President Donna Mitchell (R) present the Sheri L. Parrack FHPW Diversity Excellence Award to Jill Almaguer, center, as the representative for Memorial Hermann Hospital, our 2021 award winner.

Diversity Winner 2021 IMG_5878

Jill Almaguer presents the Diversity Excellence Award to Memorial Hermann Executive Lori Knowles.

Diversity Award Mem Herm IMG_5892